Skip To Content

Workforce Development Board receives designation

Posted on 01/29/2020
Workforce Development Board receives designation

Employment Services of Weld County’s Workforce Development Board has been designated as a High Performing Board for the second year in a row. Lee Wheeler-Berliner, Director of the Colorado Workforce Development Council, announced the status at the board’s first regular meeting of the year.

A High Performing Board designation is granted when a board meets certain key performance indicators, including having diverse and knowledgeable community members who actively participate in board meetings and activities supporting the local workforce system, and who accomplish goals and strategic priorities through data-driven, business-led meetings. The Weld County Workforce Development Board is the first and only board in the state to receive this designation more than once.

“This designation is a direct result of our board members’ contributions of time and effort while volunteering on the Weld County Workforce Development Board,” said Deputy Director of Human Services Tami Grant. “We appreciate each and every one of you for the impact you have made—and continue to make—on our Weld County community.”

The Workforce Development Board is business-led, with a majority of its 26 members representing the private sector and other members representing organized labor, community-based organizations, education, economic development organizations, other state agencies and individuals with disabilities. The board is charged with identifying regional workforce needs, developing and implementing systems in response to those needs and providing overall direction for Employment Services of Weld County.

The appointed board members are as follows: Scott James, Commissioner, Weld County Board of Commissioners; David Thompson, SVP Business Development, FMS Bank; Bonnie Babcock, President & CEO, Integrity CDL Academy; Kyle Majchrowski, Senior Project Executive, Banner Health; Sam Gluck, Vice President/Partner, APCO Electric; Amanda Ericson, Owner/Consultant, HRx Services; Greg Farris, Owner/Partner, Front Range Roofing Systems, LLC; Peggy Decker, HR/Labor Relations Consultant, Kaiser Permanente; Zach Huston, Training and Competency Manager, Noble Energy Inc.; Dwight Steele, Owner/Partner, Property Management; Jeff Sloan, Owner/Operator, Christian Brothers Automotive; Susan Ditson, Business Manager, Renewable Fiber, Inc.; Sylvia Robinson, Communications and HR Program Manager, TOLMAR, Inc.; Ryan Rose, Chief Information Office, Weld County Government; Geoff Herrig, Business Representative, UA 5 States Pipe Trades Association; Mathew Hortt, Director, High Plains Library District; Lisa Taylor, Executive Director, Immigrant and Refugee Center of Northern Colorado; Shayna Howell, Director, Aims Community College, Center for Workforce Development and Innovation; Elizabeth Barber, Executive Director, The Greeley Dream Team, Inc.; Rich Werner, President & CEO, Upstate Colorado; Elise Lowe-Vaughn, Director, CDLE Workforce Programs, Policy & Strategic Initiatives; and Stacy Evans, Regional Supervisor II, CDLE DVR.

Learn more about the Weld County Workforce Development Board at