Skip To Content

Board of County Commissioners

The five member Board of County Commissioners is the statutory head of Weld County's government. Two commissioners are elected At-Large and three are elected from the district in which they reside. As is the case with all elected county officials, commissioners must be at least 21 years of age and have resided in the county for at least one year prior to their election. Their elected position must be their primary employment during the term they serve. Commissioners are voted in for a four-year term, and if reelected can serve up to three consecutive four-year terms under charter provisions.

To learn more about the Board of County Commissioners, click here to visit their main page.


Commissioner Mike Freeman

Mike Freeman is a lifetime resident of Weld County. After graduating from Colorado State University in 1984 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Ag Business, he returned to the family farm west of Ault where he continued farming and ranching. In 2001, he and his wife started their company, J9 Crop Insurance Agency. Freeman was elected as Weld County Commissioner in 2012 and represents District 1.

District 1: Second Term 01/01/2017 - 12/31/2020


Phone: (970) 336-7204


District 2 Commissioner Scott JamesScott James is a fourth generation Colorado native reared in LaSalle; a community his great grandfather and great-great grandfather helped found. Scott, his wife, Julie, and son, Jack, reside in Johnstown, where he served for nearly 20-years as Chairman of the Planning and Zoning Commission, Member of Town Council, and Mayor.

Appointed to the Planning and Zoning Commission in 1999 and elected to Town Council in 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014 and as Mayor in 2016, Scott’s leadership accomplishments in Johnstown and Northern Colorado include:

- Liaison to the Johnstown-Milliken Chamber of Commerce
- Johnstown representative on the North Front Range Metropolitan Planning Organization
- Voted to add sworn officers to the Johnstown Police Department
- Led initiative to open a Johnstown Police Annex at 2534
- Led initiative for the Construction of the debt free Johnstown Community Recreation Center
- Led the initiative for the development and implementation of a Model Service Plan for Metropolitan Districts in Johnstown
- Led the initiative for the development and implementation of economic development incentives in Johnstown
- Voted to retire municipal bonds early
- Led Johnstown from a $13 million debt to an over $80 million surplus, making Johnstown one of two debt-free municipalities in Colorado
- Voted to contribute $8 million to the expansion of I-25
- Voted to refer a 5-mil property decrease to Johnstown voters

James is a familiar face and voice to two generations of Coloradans. A 36-year award-winning radio personality, Scott delights in serving his community. Through his many non-profit and philanthropic endeavors, James has helped raise over $2 million for Northern Colorado charities.

A graduate of Northeastern Junior College, Aims Community College, and Colorado State University, Scott is active at Rez.Church, serves on the Weld Food Bank Board of Directors, and passionately endeavors to shave a stroke or two off his double-digit golf handicap.

District 2: First Term: 01/01/2019 - 12/31/2022


Phone: (970) 336-7204


Commissioner Barbara Kirkmeyer

Barbara Kirkmeyer, a fourth generation Coloradan, has spent the past 20 years working for her community and for Weld County. Kirkmeyer was first elected as County Commissioner for District 3 in 1993 and served eight years (1993-2001) in that role before leaving to manage a state-level department. She returned to county government in 2008 when she was elected again as Commissioner for District 3; she is currently serving her third term.

District 3: Third Term: 01/01/2017 - 12/31/2020


Phone: (970) 336-7204


Commissioner Steve Moreno

Steve Moreno is a 30+ year Weld County resident, who has worked for Weld County since 1985. Moreno was elected as an At-Large commissioner in 2014 and re-elected in 2018. He serves on the Upstate Colorado Economic Development Board, the Greeley Downtown Development Board, and Board of Directors for the National Association of Elected Officials (Election Center), as well as a host of other boards.

Commissioner Moreno attended Otero Junior College and the University of Southern Colorado and is a member of the St. Peters Catholic Church and the Early Risers Toastmaster Club. He has been married to his wife Joyce for 36 years, and together they have two children: Douglas, 29, and Courtney, 23.

At-Large: Second Term: 01/01/2019 - 12/31/2022


Phone: (970) 336-7204


Commissioner Sean Conway

Sean Conway is a third generation Coloradan who has resided in Weld County for more than a quarter century. He was elected to the Board of County Commissioners in 2008, and re-elected to the board in 2012 and 2016. In the 2012 election, Commissioner Conway received the highest vote total for any candidate for any elected office in the history of Weld County. Prior to being elected to the board, Conway served as Chief-of-Staff to former Colorado U.S. Senator Wayne Allard.

Commissioner Conway was elected in 2018 to serve as Vice Chairman of the Colorado State Transportation Advisory Commission (STAC) and currently serves as the Vice Chairman of the South Platte Roundtable (SPRT), he has served on the SPRT since 2009 and was the Chairman of the roundtable in 2017. He also serves as Vice Chairman of the National Association of Counties (NACo) Immigration Task Force and represents Weld County as a Trustee on the North Colorado Medical Center Board of Trustees, the Poudre Heritage Alliance (PHA) and the E-470 Authority.

Commissioner Conway has represented Weld County on the North Front Range Metropolitan Planning Organization (NFMPO) since 2009. He founded the U.S. Highway 34 Coalition, a group of elected officials from Loveland to Kersey whose mission is to plan for future traffic growth on the corridor. He also was co-founder of the North I-25 Coalition in 2013 and serves on the coalition’s I-25 Funding Subcommittee. He also serves on the Highway 66 Coalition.

In 2015, Commissioner Conway was named “Legislator of the Year” by AIMS Community College for his work on helping create the Weld County Bright Futures program. He also was awarded the “Shining Star Award” by the Windsor Chamber of Commerce in 2009, and in 2016 was recognized by BizWest, Northern Colorado’s #1 business publication, for his work on developing a successful northern Colorado regional coalition to get state and federal funding for north I-25.

At-Large: Third Term: 01/01/2017 - 12/31/2020


Phone: (970) 336-7204