Skip To Content

Boards and commissions gain several volunteers

Posted on 12/17/2020
Boards and commissions gain several volunteers

Heading into 2021, several residents will be involved in Weld County Government through Weld County Advisory Boards and Commissions. In total, the Weld County Board of Commissioners appointed and reappointed 27 individuals to serve on nine boards and commissions.

“Our advisory boards and commissions do a great job in making sure the services we provide are continually improved to meet our residents’ needs,” Weld County Commissioner Chair Mike Freeman said. “We greatly appreciate all who’ve offered to continue serving, and we welcome new members.”

Beyond appointing and reappointing residents to serve new terms, the board presented Recognition of Services Certificates to nine citizens who are stepping away from volunteer positions: Pres Montoya for serving two years on the Human Services Advisory Commission, Ron Bland for serving eight years on the Greeley Weld Airport Authority and Jason Baker serving four years on the Weld County Building Code Board of Appeals. Dwight Steele (three years), David Thompson (six years), Geoffrey Herrig (three years), Greg Farris (four years), Joshua Johnson (one year) and Ryan Rose (two years) received certificates for time spent strengthening Employment Services of Weld County by volunteering on the Workforce Development Board.

“For so many to volunteer their time on boards and commissions while balancing work and family life, especially in light of the challenges this year presented, is greatly appreciated and should be commended,” Commissioner Scott James said. “We hope citizen involvement will continue in the new year as openings arise. These volunteer positions are a great way to learn about county government, meet new people and become advocates for the services we provide.”

To learn more about Weld County Advisory Boards and Commissions and how you can get involved, visit

Appointments and Reappointments

Greeley/Weld Housing Authority
Dennie Kutcher, county appointee

Greeley/Weld Airport Authority
Darrel Dilley, county appointee

Human Services Advisory Commission
Elizabeth Barber, Stanley Graffis, Jodi Hartmann, Enita Kearns-Hout, Tom Teixeira, Melanie (Falvo) Woolman

Juvenile Community Review Board
Laura Ibarra

Regional Comm. Advisory Board
Tom Nissen, Todd Norris, Brent Newbanks, Kris Kazian

Weld County Building Code Board of Appeals
Sam Gluck, Tim Swanson

Weld/Larimer Revolving Fund Committee
Ray Knapp, Larry Wood

Workforce Development Board
Michelle Vance, Gary Matten, Alicia Ready, Elizabeth Barber, Jeff Taylor, Sylvia Robinson, Shayne Howell, Jill Eaton, Peggy Decker

Federal Mineral Lease Board of Directors
Bruce White

Photo caption: Dwight Steele (bottom center) standing with the Weld County Commissioners, DHS employees, a family member, and members of the Workforce Development Board receiving a certificate.