Skip To Content

Board makes appointments to advisory committee

Posted on 10/22/2020
Board makes appointments to advisory committee

The Board of County Commissioners appointed seven Weld County residents to the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Advisory Committee this week.

Jodi Hartmann will serve as the Housing Provider Representative, Janet Meisel-Burns will be the Business Community Representative and Debbie Lewis-Demille is the Nonprofit Representative. Jeff Schreier, Dean Moyer, A.J. Krieger and Steve Stamey will serve as municipal representatives.

“We have great representation from multiple municipalities and different housing, business and nonprofit agencies to help guide the efforts of this program,” said Weld County Chairman Mike Freeman. “Their experience in and knowledge of each sector and municipality will ensure we’re identifying the most appropriate and beneficial community improvement projects for the county.”

The advisory committee will be responsible for reviewing community improvement project applications submitted by municipalities and the county with CDBG program staff. The committee will also make recommendations to the board of commissioners regarding community development issues and allocations of funds for proposed CDBG projects.

This committee will also serve as a review body to advise and deliberate with CDBG staff about the Consolidated Plan, which will help secure funding through an entitlement allocation from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. An entitlement allocation is given to counties considered to be urban — meaning a population of 200,000 or more. Weld County has more than 300,000 residents. Allocation for the county is expected to be received in early 2021, at an annual estimated entitlement of approximately $1 million.

This past June, the county secured Intergovernmental Agreements (IGAs) with 25 of its municipalities to implement community improvement projects and allocate program funds accordingly.

For more information on Weld County’s CDBG program, go to